MY LOVE FOR ASTON VILLA FC

On this momentous day when #GabbyAgbonlahor scored the goal at#VillaPark which will hopefully send those Bluenoses and Small Heathens down to Football League One where they belong we look into my family history as Aston Villa FC (AKA Historians FC) fans…..

Charlie Aitken

Me Dad Les Bracey and his Dad before him me Grandad Wilfred Bracey were #VillaFans loike me Uncle Norman Bracey who died in the 1970’s before we won the League Championship and European Cup in 1981 under Managers Ron Saunders and Tony Barton under the Bendall’s ownership before #DougEllis returned to the club.

Sir William MacGregor Statue at Villa Park

Doug steered us through our most successful period under first the late, great manager Graham Taylor who left the Villa for the England job, Brian Little and Ron Saunders who both won the League Cup as Managers for #AstonVillaFC…..

I love the Villa and will always follow #HistorianFC…….#AVFC#ComeonYouLions #UptheVilla #UTV

Sir William Macgregor Grave in St Mary's Church Handsworth

I am an avid and staunch Aston Villa fan and have been since my Dad Les used to take me on the Number 11 Outer Circle Football Special “Buzz” from the King’s Head in Bearwood where we lived.

Gabby Agbonlahor

We travelled on the “Buzz” through Bearwood and then Rotton Park where my Mom and Dad Dot and Les Bracey lived in a bedsit before I was born at St Chad’s Maternity Hospital on Hagley Road in Edgbaston.

We passed through Winson Green where my Mom Dot Merriman as she was then lived in the back-to-backs of Dugdale Street off Dudley Road, Winson Green, through Handsworth, then through Perry Barr and the Crown and Cushions pub via Aston Lane to Trinity Road in Witton and thence to the Witton End at Nirvana, Villa Park.

Villa Park RWC

The Witton End was just a grass mound at one end of the ground with railway sleepers and great big (to a 4 year old little boy anyhow) red-painted stanchions up and down the grass mound which my Dad Les would sit me on with his big brawny arms protecting me on either side with me in the middle having bought me a shilling white paper bag of pineapple rock or pear drop boiled sweets from the sweet shop next to Villa Park on Trinity Road.

#RIPUgoEhiogu #UTV #ComeOnYouLions #UptheVilla #HistoriansFC

Ugo Ehiogu RIP

feeling excited with Bob Egan at Villa Park, England.Charlie Aitken

Leave a Reply

